New Shooting Fundamentals Class on 4/28 at 6PM at James City-Bruton Vol Fire Dept in Toano. Walkins Welcome.

Subtotal: $0.00

No products in the cart.

No products in the cart.

Mobile/tablet header:

Glossary of Concealed Carry Terms

All 50 states allow for the carrying of a concealed weapon in some form, but the process for obtaining a permit or license, and even the names of the permits, vary from state to state. To help explain the various acronyms and names for concealed carry permits in Virginia, Maryland, Utah and other states, we’ve created this glossary of terms.

Concealed Carry of a Weapon (CCW)

Generic term for carrying a firearm that is hidden in a holster, pocket, handbag, briefcase, or vehicle. Most commonly, it refers to a handgun secured in a holster beneath your clothing, or in a pocket or handbag. A CCW firearm must not be visible to the casual observer, and, in some jurisdictions, it can result in a fine or citation if a concealed firearm is seen during everyday activities.

Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP)

The term for a concealed carry permit in the State of Virginia. A Virginia CHP is issued to residents and non-residents who are at least 21 years old, and who have completed a state-approved firearms training course and demonstrated competence with the firearm. Virginia Resident Concealed Handgun Permits are issued by the circuit court of the county or city in which the applicant resides.

If you’re interested in getting qualified to apply for your CCW in Virginia, click to view our schedule of classes.

Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP)

The term for a concealed carry permit in the State of Utah. Applicants must be at least 21 years old for the standard permit and at least 18 years old for the provisional CFP. In addition, applicants must pass a criminal background check and complete a firearms familiarity course certified by the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI). Utah Concealed Firearm Permits are issued by the Utah BCI.

If you are a Virginia resident and are interested in qualifying to apply for the Utah non-resident CFP, we offer the necessary training. Jay is a certified BCI instructor. View our class schedule.

Handgun Qualification License (HQL)

A type of license required in Maryland to purchase, rent or receive a handgun after October 1, 2013, unless otherwise exempt. This license does not allow for concealed carry in Maryland. Concealed carry is only legal in Maryland with a Maryland Wear and Carry Handgun Permit (WCHP).

License to Carry (LTC)

The term used by several states, including Pennsylvania and Texas, for a concealed carry permit. If you want to carry a gun outside your home in these states, you will need to apply for License to Carry permit. Each state has its own eligibility and application requirements.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Get info on new laws, new class offerings, special deals and more!